cemetery : off limits (trespassers will be forgotten)

my life is a graveyard because this is where the past and the dead thrive.

you won’t have to try going six feet under
to uncover the bones of what everyone left behind,
or bother with the ouija board –
the souls maintain their own reign of terror:
a dominance i find hard to resist
or retaliate against;
after all, this is their land

this is their cement city –
their deaths have encroached every inch of this graveyard;
they don’t want to leave any place for the living –
and i am all but my own person

maybe you should quit digging
turn and run past the cemetery gates before it’s too late
the ghosts, they have their own names
but all the buried bodies are mine.
every skeleton was pulled out of me
and i have died a thousand deaths,
so don’t tell me you’re here for my eulogy

don’t seek your immortality in these eternity boxes –
they only boast of worm food and luminescent dust.
my fingers no more perform resurgence –
you’ll be forgotten long before dusk

the sepulchral earth exhales memories
that no being could bear to breathe,
its toxic reminiscence decays all hope there is to leave.
it bleeds the love for a thousand souls
and leaves, in its wake, so many black dreams

my life is a graveyard because this is where the past and the dead thrive.

there is no place for the living.

